Update : Saturday, February 24, 2018
2017 WT Grand Slam, Chance to win $7million!Reveal competition rules… men and women to win same prize money

The Wuxi 2017 World Taekwondo Grand Slam Champions Series(2017 WT Grand Slam), which has the largest prize money throughout international taekwondo competitions, has presented its exceptional competition rules.

World Taekwondo(WT) announced the roadmap of the 2017 Grand Slam Series at the headquarter of WT in Seoul on November 15.

WT President Chungwon Choue and Director General Jin-bang Yang deliver messages on the Wuxi 2017 World Taekwondo Grand Slam Champions Series.

The 2017 WT Grand Slam will be held in Wuxi, China on Dec. 30, starting the men’s under 80kg and women’s over 68kg divisions. A week later, the men’s under 68kg, women’s under 67kg division will compete on January 6, and men’s over 80kg, women’s under 49kg division will be on January 13, and men’s under 58kg, women’s under 57kg divisions will be on January 20. The team championships will also be held on January 27.

The men and women winners will be awarded equal prize money.

Initially, the men and women's prize money were different, $ 70,000 and $ 50,000, but it has been unified to $ 70,000 for gender equality. The second prize is $ 20,000, and the third prize is $ 5,000.

A winning team of its team championships will have $20,000.

The prize money will be shared by a winning athlete(70%) and his coach(30%). In addition to the winner's prize money, WT and the Organizing Committee decided to give additional prizes, including a prize for the best celebration. In addition, a second(coach) will be selected by athletes rather than National Associations.

The Grand Slam's new rules were also presented.

2016 Rio Olympic gold medalist So-hui Kim’s roundhouse kick. Athletes will be awarded 5 points for a valid turning kick to the trunk in the 2017 Grand Slam.

The technical point has been changed one to two points. For example, originally, three points awarded for a valid turning kick to the trunk protector, but athletes will be able to get four points for a valid turning kick to body, and five points for a turning kick to head in the Grand Slam.

If a referee perceives a contestant to be staggering or knocked down by attacker's kicks and begins counting, the attacker can get additional 5 points. When a player succeeds a valid turning kick to the head and referee begins counting, the attacker can win 10 points. In addition, if his opponent falls down by the kick, he can get 11 points.

In the semi-final and finals of men's divisions, athletes play 5 rounds with 2 minutes matches, but women's divisions are not eligible for this rule. A “Gam-jeom” will be declared when one feet of a contestant cross the boundary line and when a contestant get 20 penalty points, he will lose the game.

"The rules of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games can be changed according to the result of the 2017 WT Grand Slam,” WT President Chungwon Choue said. “But, the 5 round matches with 2 minutes are probably not suitable to be exposed in Olympic Media.”

Grand Slam Series do not award Olympic ranking points, but the 2017-19 Grand Slam Series will be given an automatic qualification right for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games by WT’s point system.

TKDNews  webmaster@eng.tkdnews.com

<© TKDNews, All rights reserved.>

Other articles by TKDNews
iconMost viewed
Comments 0
Please leave the first comment.
Back to Top