Update : Saturday, February 24, 2018
Taekwondo adds male and female divisions at 2018 Asian GamesMale -63kg, Female -53kg divisions newly added…14 Golds for Taekwondo
  • Teak Jin Yang
  • Approval 2018.01.05 17:10
  • comments 0

Two gold medals - from 12 to 14 - were newly added in taekwondo event at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta–Palembang.

And poomsae, a newly introduced taekwondo events, has four divisions as announced last year, and gyeorugi has included its new weight categories, the male under 63kg and female under 53kg divisions: Male –58, -68, -80, +80, Female –49, -57, -67, +67kg.

The female’s under 53kg competition at the 2016 Asian Taekwondo Championships in Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines.

According to Asian Taekwondo Union(ATU), the newly added gyeorugi weight categories were given the World Taekwondo(WT)'s final approval last December in 2017.

In this regard, an Indonesian Taekwondo official said, "Two Chairmen of Indonesia Organizing Committee and Olympic Council of Asia(OCA) agreed to add each male and female weight categories of gyeorugi," He continued. "Despite the ficial document has not been sent yet, it is almost certain."

At the 2014 Incheon Asian Games, taekwondo played only gyeorugi, and each national association was able to participate six divisions in eight of each male and female’s weight categories.

Poomsae can be an official sport of the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta-Palembang. If successful, it will make 20 gold medals: 16 golds for gyeorugi and 4 for poomsae.

September of last year, the number of gold medals was halved, 12, as Olympic Council of Asia(OCA) had decided to create new poomsae divisions and reduce gyeorugi divisions, like the Olympic weight category, at the General Meeting of in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan.

However, as more people agreed to add gyeorugi divisions, one of each male and female gyeorugi weight categories were finally added.

The ATU is planning to send a official document to each national associations.

The participating national associations have no quota limit to participate in gyeorugi divisions: five male and five female weight categories.

But poomsae can be divided into the individual and the mixed division, and its participating countries are likely to be given quotas to only two divisions, except the host country.

Teak Jin Yang  tkdnews@korea.com

<© TKDNews, All rights reserved.>

Other articles by Teak Jin Yang
iconMost viewed
Comments 0
Please leave the first comment.
Back to Top